Buttery, Flaky Apple Galette

Something occurred to me today. Now that my grandma knows about my blog, she knows that I eat meat. My grandparents are vegans now and they also don’t eat a lot of sugar. So naturally, we don’t talk about our shared love of bacon (which is kind of what we do at work). I don’t think my grandparents were under the impression that I was vegan, but now there is evidence. I kind of feel like I’m coming out as a meat-eater.

Grandma. Grandpa. I *deep breath* am a meat-eater. There I said it. I know you’ve probably suspected it for most of my life, but I feel like it’s important to also tell you myself. I hope that, as vegans, you can accept my lifestyle. Please understand that I did not choose this. God made me…and he made me a person who loves babyback ribs. I’m not just experimenting with chicken breasts like a lot of girls do. There are pot roasts in my life. I made up my own spice rub for pork ribs. I won’t share too many of the graphic details but suffice it to say that there is a jar of bacon fat in my fridge. I just hope you can still love me as the granddaughter you’ve known and loved for all these 22 years.

And with that, here is a crazy-good recipe for a flaky apple galette. And it’s meat-free!

Having leftover phyllo dough in the fridge is like having someone taunting me to make something delicious. So I did. After seeing an apple tart on the foodnetwork that was described as “the best apple tart” that Alex Guarnaschelli ever ate and then looking at various tarts in Saint Julia’s cookbook, the Bon Appetit Cookbook, and a few blogs, I decided to do a twist on the classic apple tart/apple galette by using phyllo. A galette is just a free-form tart that has a crust which wraps around the side and on top of the border of the filling. Using phyllo gives the galette a light, flaky crust so it resembles a strudel. Is it a strudel or a galette? Or is it BOTH?! The other great thing about this pastry is that it looks pretty and sort of impressive while only using a few ingredients. Four to be exact.

*You may have seen on the facebook page that this doesn’t keep well. It doesn’t go bad or anything, but the crust inevitably goes soggy so safe this for a dinner party or summer barbecue.

1/2 lb phyllo dough (don’t ask me how many sheets because I’ll laugh at you)
2 golden delicious apples
1 stick of butter (I kno-ow….get over it)
2 Tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 375. Melt the butter either in a microwave safe dish or in a small saucepan. Peel and core the apples and brush with lemon juice to keep from turning brown. Next slice them very thin–about 1/8″ thick. This won’t get cooked very long so it’s important to cut them thin so they can get cooked through. You can see in the picture how I cut mine. Put these aside and arrange your work area. You will have the melted butter with a pastry brush, the sliced apples, the sheets of phyllo dough (no need to trim), and your baking sheet with parchment on it.

Lay one phyllo sheet down on the parchment. Brush on a circle of butter in the center of the sheet that will be completely covered when you lay the next sheet on perpendicular (see the pictures). Brush on another circle of butter and lay the next sheet diagonal to the first two sheets. Use your fingers to smooth out any bubbles. Brush on more butter and lay the next sheet down perpendicular to the third sheet. This seems weird and way too complicated, I know. But you’re doing this so the phyllo will completely wrap around the apples. Lay the next sheet in line with the first one and keep going alternating butter and phyllo. It will be 1. lay down phyllo, 2 smooth out bubbles, 3. apply butter, 4. lay down phyllo, etc. Leave one remaining sheet so that if you have any tears in the last sheets, you can mend them like you’re doing paper mache.

When you’re finished brush on a little bit of butter and sprinkle on about 3/4 Tbsp of sugar. Next, layer all the apples in a fan shape and put a few in the center (see picture). Sprinkle on another 3/4 Tbsp of sugar over the apples. Now gently pull up the inner layers of phyllo so that they cover the sides and border of the apples. If these sheets tear a little, it’s no big deal. Brush on a tiny bit of butter (you don’t need much) and keep pulling up the layers of phyllo and sort of pleat them as you go. Do this until you finish the outermost layers of phyllo. Brush on remaining butter and sprinkle on the last of the sugar.

Place in the preheated oven and turn the temperature up to 400. Remove after 12 minutes or when the top layers of phyllo are golden brown. Devour.

Leave a Reply

