Bacon-Stuffed, Deep-Fried Mushrooms

I made a nice little, healthy dinner and sat blogging about it when Chad, out of nowhere, lamented the lack of snack food (garden salsa ruffles? pecans? apples? leftovers?) and said he craved deep-fried mushrooms. Oy. I thought this meant he was going to order Mother Bear’s which isn’t a bad thing, but I was full and didn’t want to miss out. Instead, he surprised me by suggesting we make deep-fried mushrooms ourselves. I was (am?) tired so I said I would make them if he cleaned up afterward since oil is such a pain. He agreed, I found a recipe, and we got to it. By dragging my feet a bit, I managed to get out of doing most of the work (whatever, guys…I worked till midnight then woke up at 7 and worked another shift then took a midterm). Here are the spectacular results.

We usually order from Mother Bear’s, like I said, but making them ended up being kind of fun to do together. Do you cook with your person? If you’re not in a hurry and if you aren’t starving, try it. Being in a hurry or overly hungry will make you say something like, oh, I don’t know…”Willyoupleasegetoutofmykitchenyoucrazyboy?!?!” as you try to make 3 things at once and do dishes. But laid-back, snack cooking is fun and playful. Try it with your sweetie.

Ew. Remind me not to use the word sweetie.

Adapted from Angel Marcelino at allrecipes.com
12-15 button mushrooms
2 strips thick cut bacon (it’s a good idea to remove a portion of the fat)

1/2 C breadcrumbs
1/2 C flour
1/2 C water
1 medium egg
1 tsp garlic powder (garlic salt can be substituted-just reduce the salt)
pinch salt, pinch pepper

Put lots and lots of vegetable oil in a dutch oven and heat to 375-400 (use a candy or frying thermometer-they are inexpensive and a lifesaver for inexperienced fryers). Meanwhile, remove the stems from the mushrooms and clean the caps. Chop the bacon into small pieces (removing some of the unnecessary fat). Stuff into the mushroom caps and apply salt and pepper. Next prepare the batter. Whisk flour, breadcrumbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Add water to the mixture and then the egg, incorporating after each. Test the oil by dripping a small amount of batter in the oil. If it rises and browns, it’s ready. Bring on the mushrooms!

Carefully coat the stuffed mushrooms in the batter and gently place in the oil. I, um, asked Chad to do this. I hate frying stuff. He likes it. It works for us. Fry the mushrooms for about 5 minutes on each side or until light brown (check out the photos…I feel like photos are best for frying instructions). If you’re new to frying PLEASE read these frying instructions from Bon Appetit. Don’t get hurt. I’d feel responsible and obviously that would be the problem with you getting hurt. 😉

After the mushrooms are light brown (and you’ll have to keep turning them and turning them) remove them to a plate with a paper towel. Let cool (seriously, y’all, they’re hot) and serve with ranch dressing or blue cheese. Chad chose ranch…it’s kind of his favorite.

Oh my.

Just for that I’m going to make him a spinach salad tomorrow.

One response to “Bacon-Stuffed, Deep-Fried Mushrooms

  1. There needs to be simpler directions. There is to much to do.

Leave a Reply

