Rosé-Rosemary Chicken

Far too often, I find myself standing in the kitchen, hands on hips, trying to figure out what to make with frozen chicken. And there’s always frozen chicken. I can’t trust myself to use fresh in time (we’re only two people, you guys) and the little tenderloins thaw and cook so quickly that I can’t see a good reason not to use them. Apparently some people aren’t wild about freezers. I, on the other hand, am a person who considers “where can we maybe put a deep freezer in here?” as a factor when choosing an apartment. Because I’m so normal! (For the record, if we only get a washer and no dryer, we can put one in the laundry room at the apartment place I like. Yup. I’d rather have a deep freezer than a dryer. Or I’ll use the freezer as an island in the kitchen. We’ll see.) The point is, I’m vehemently pro-freezers. Think of all the cheesecakes, poundcakes, soups, breads, fresh fish, and ice creams I could make and store. And I could store TONS of Indiana sweet corn. I mean, sheesh. That’s reason enough.

So a few weeks ago I thought Chicken marsala! and then realized I had no marsala wine. I’ve never, ever bought it so I wasn’t surprised, but a wine sauce is a wine sauce, right?  I did have cheap rosé though. Now before you turn your nose up at me, consider the fact that David Lebovitz drinks it and that it is $7 from my local winery. And I’m in college. End of argument.

So I thawed my chicken in salty water (believing as I do in the power of brining for taste and texture), sliced a bunch of button mushrooms and chopped some rosemary. If you, like me, find yourself with chicken and no ideas, make this. You can substitute whatever wine you have and still get great flavor.

1 C water
1/2 C salt
2 chicken breasts or 4 tenderloins
1 Tbsp olive oil, butter, or bacon fat
1/3 C rosé wine
1/4 C heavy cream
fresh ground pepper
1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped
1 lb button or cremini mushrooms (also called baby portobellos), sliced

Eek! I forgot to photograph the mushrooms! After removing the chicken from the pan, toss the quartered mushrooms in the pan to cook for a few minutes in the remains of that yummy, yummy sauce. Serve alongside or on top of the chicken.

Oh man. This is sooo good. I gave Chad the mushrooms and had some spinach and a little bowl of the French lentil soup. I’ve made this chicken a couple times now and we both just love it. It’s great if you need a good chicken dish that will use up some pantry staples.

Leave a Reply

