Roasted Garlic & Cheddar Mashed Potatoes

Before we started dating, Chad and I once had a huge debate over who made the best mashed potatoes. He loves his garlic mashed potatoes and I love my white cheddar, sour cream mashed potatoes. We planned a taste test for our co-workers and both sides had supporters (Jeremy was totally on my team). It got ugly. I told him people weren’t going to pick him because he’s mean and he said I’m only nice to people because I’m the anti-Christ and I’m just trying to gain support.

My boyfriend called me the anti-Christ. Romantic.

Long story short: we decided not to have a competition. No one apartment should have that quantity of mashed potatoes. This isn’t my signature white cheddar mashed potatoes, but my roasted garlic cheddar mashed potatoes. Still very yummy!

4 large or 6 small russet potatoes
1 C grated cheddar cheese
1/2 C grated parmesan cheese
2 Tbsp butter
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh-ground pepper
3 cloves roasted garlic, smashed

You can find the instructions for roasting garlic on the garlic-roasted asparagus page, but here they are again: Preheat your oven to 350 and chop the top off the head of garlic. Put the garlic in a small dish (I use a super small souflée dish) and drizzle olive oil over top. I usually throw a tiny bit of salt on top to enhance the garlic flavor. Roast for 20-30 minutes or until the garlic is fragrant and soft.

While the garlic is in the oven, chop and boil the potatoes in salted water. Then shred the cheeses and set aside. When the garlic is cool enough to handle, take out 3 cloves and smash on a cutting board to form a paste. Dump the butter, cheese, garlic, and salt and pepper in a large bowl.

Spoon the boiled potatoes into the bowl and mash with your favorite potato masher. Do you have a favorite?

Chad’s absolute favorite is his mother’s. She inherited it from her grandmother. It’s sturdy metal and could probably mash rocks. Chad has already made it clear that when, God forbid, his mom passes away, he is taking the potato masher. Probably fearing that he’d try to off her, she bought him this one for Christmas. It’s not metal like hers, but it’s a similar shape. This seems to be the best mashing design since it has a large surface area which doesn’t allow for big hunks of potato to squeeze through the gaps between prongs. I have a masher like that and while I don’t use it for potatoes, I do use it when I mash whole tomatoes for sauce.

Did I really just write a paragraph about potato masher designs?

Top with a grind or two of fresh pepper and nosh away. Feel comforted and at home. Make these for your boyfriend or girlfriend so you can prove that you’re not the anti-Christ, you’re just awesome. And you might be gathering a following so you like, maybe bring down the world. Or something.

Leave a Reply

